

Year Six Geography Knowledge Organiser - South America: The Amazon

Key facts:

- -The Amazon is a vast region that spans nine countries: Brazil, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana and Suriname, as well as French Guiana.
- -The Amazon Rainforest is the largest rainforest in the world and covers almost 40% of South America.
- -The Amazon represents over half of the planet's remaining rainforests and has an estimated 390 billion individual trees .
- -The Amazon has a tropical climate. There are only two seasons: wet and dry.
- -Unfortunately, some areas of the rainforest are mined for iron ore and gold, trees are cleared for building roads, and areas are cleared by man made fires. These all effect the many species of plants and animals living there as their habitats are being destroyed.



The Amazon Rainforest



Key vocabulary:

Conservation	The protection of natural resources, such as soil, water, or forests, from pollution, waste or humans.
Species	A group of living things that are very similar to one another. For example cats are one species and dogs are another.
Habitats	The natural environment of an animal or plant.
Indigenous people	People that are native to an area. They are the first to be there.

South America

South America consists of a variety of ecosystems including rainforests, seasonal forests, deciduous forests, flooded forests and savannahs.